Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Registration for ESL classes begins this month

REGISTRATION FOR ENGLISH CLASSES

(TEMPE, AZ - July 17, 2008) - Students from across the Valley are improving their English with a new program offered online and in-person from Rio Salado College. The new program offers beginning, intermediate, and advanced English-as-a-Second-Language (ESL) classes that will help students improve their reading, writing, listening, and speaking skills.

Registration begins July 22 and continues through August for ESL credit classes. In-person classes begin August 25 in Tempe, Surprise, and Mesa.

Dozens benefit from the classes that allow students to learn English from the comfort of their homes. Maria Romero, a stay-at-home mom with three children, is thrilled she can improve her language skills without leaving home.

“I have three kids,” Romero said, adding she studies diligently daily. “I can’t go out every day.” Her goal is to someday get a good job. For now she spends her time perfecting her English.

“I like everything,” said Romero of her online experience. “The school is the best.”

The classes use innovative voice-recognition software that allows students to hear the words they need to speak and read English. The classes include games and other engaging activities, as well as quizzes and writing assignments to reinforce the lessons.

Registration for classes is available at a “One-Stop-Shop”event. Online classes start every Monday. In-person classes are available beginning Aug. 25.

Open registration sessions are scheduled for the following:
Lifelong Learning Center12535 Smokey Drive, Surprise (just south of Bell Road)
Tuesdays (9 a.m. - noon)
Tuesday, July 22
Tuesday, August 5
Thursdays (5 p.m. - 7 p.m.)
Thursday, July 31
Thursday, August 14
Thursday, August 21
- More -

- Rio Salado College ESL Classes -
Rio East Valley1455 S. Stapley Drive, Mesa (just north of the Superstition Freeway)
Tuesdays (9 a.m. - noon)
Tuesday, July 29
Tuesday, August 12
Tuesday, August 19
Thursdays (5 p.m. - 7 p.m.)
Thursday, July 24
Thursday, August 7

Rio Salado College2323 W. 14th Street, Tempe (just west of 52nd Street between University and Broadway)
Wednesdays (9 a.m. - noon & 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.)
Wednesday, July 30
Wednesday, August 6
Wednesday, August 13
Wednesday, August 20

For more information about the registration sessions or enrollment please call the bilingual (English/Spanish) ESL hotline at 480.517.8249.
###
E. J. Anderson
Media Relations Manager
Rio Salado College
2323 West 14th Street
Tempe, AZ 85281
ej.anderson@riosalado.edu




Post a Comment