Wednesday, October 18, 2017

SPOT 127 Teens Awarded Rocky Mountain Emmys!

Photo of SPOT127 winners

Congratulations to SPOT 127 students Michelle Ailport, Itzel Rios, Noah Delgado and Max Trapp--- 2017 National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Rocky Mountain Emmy Student Production award-winners!  The students received their awards at a special gala on Sat., Oct. 14. 

Here are the winning categories, with links to the student videos:

  • High School Student - Arts and Entertainment/ Cultural Affairs, Max Trapp - Prom Dress
  • High School Student - Arts and Entertainment/ Cultural Affairs, Michelle Ailport, Noah Delgado and Itzel Rios - SERVED, Pita Jungle
  • High School Student - Craft Editor Michelle Ailport - SERVED, Nana Pancha's
A special thank you to the SPOT 127 staff members who helped the students with their projects: Rick Fowler, Cheryl Lambert, Trevor Gahona, Sylvia Cook, senior production assistant Alicia Bozutto and production assistants Gisselle Loera and Olivia Parker.

SPOT 127 is a community service of KJZZ Phoenix and Rio Salado College, with a mission is to help high school students find their voices and engage in their communities by developing skills in digital media, radio, and journalism. Learn more at

Itzel Rios is a freshman at Prescott College, Max Trapp is a sophomore at Paradise Valley High School, Michelle Ailport is a senior at Greenway High School and Noah Delgado is a freshman at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication Arizona State University.

Photo1: Left to right: Catherine Schwartzmann (senior, Corona del Sol High School), Itzel Rio, Max Trapp and Michelle Ailport.